Can Android Data Be Recovered After Factory Reset


Is it possible to retrieve data after a factory reset on your device? Let's take a look at some common answers and steps to perform a factory reset on your Android device. A factory reset should be performed if you are planning to sell your phone or if your phone has some serious issues.

In this article we will be talking about carrying out a factory reset and also the methods of recovering your data after a factory reset.

What is a factory reset

The process that you undergo on your devices like a phone or tablet is known as a factory reset. The name 'Factory reset' derived because it deletes all your personal data from the device by giving you a device in its original state as it is when it left the factory.


Factory reset is also called 'Master reset' or 'System restore' sometimes. Have you come across the term 'Wiping' a device? People usually refer to this term instead of factory reset. Both means the same.

Why perform a factory reset

The reasons for a factory reset defers according to your need. The main reason you want to perform a factory reset is when you want to sell your device because you don't want the buyer to access your personal data when you pass down the phone. So it's essential that you do a factory reset beforehand.

Another reason is when you have used your device for quite a long time and is filled with apps and more data that you don't use. All these apps would make your device slow and laggy so it's recommended to do a factory reset so that your phone will be back to a clean state. This will also make the device run faster as normal. After the factory reset you can choose the important apps and install it in your device.

Also it's not possible to fix the issue if your device has got some serious software problems. The only thing you got to do is to perform a factory reset which is curb the problem.

How To Perform Factory Reset In Android

Performing a factory reset is not so hard in Android device. In the Android settings you can find the option for performing a factory reset.

If you are planning to reset your device, make sure you have backed up all you important data on your device. Media's like your photos, videos and music should be backed up along with your favorite apps.

Here's how to perform a factory reset on Android.

Go to 'Settings' in your Android device and t
ap 'System' by scrolling down to the bottom.


In the system you will find more options. Click 'Advanced' to show more subheadings and there you will see a menu called
'Reset option', tap on it.


Next tap the option 'Erase all data (factory reset)'.


In the next page you will get the warning signs which says continuing with the reset will erase all data. Data like Google account, setting, system, apps, music, photos and all the other data will be erased.


Finally in the bottom of the page you will find 'Delete all' option. Tap it if you want to perform the factory reset. 

Once you click on it you will be asked for a PIN or password. After entering the PIN click Next and 
confirm the factory reset.

That's all. Now the factory reset process will begin. After it is done you can start fresh configuration in Android settings.
Can data be recovered after a factory reset

Do you know that all your data isn't removed when you do a factory reset? people think that after performing a factory reset everything will be gone and you cannot access it any more but it's not the case.


If you accidentally perform a factory reset it's possible to recover all your data back. But what if you did a factory reset to protect all your data? It would be a problem in this case.

Android built-in data encryption

Few years back even if you perform a factory reset all you data won't be deleted. Some data will still remain in your internal storage because Android was not encrypted by default. In this case, y
ou can install a data recovery tool to an already reset device and extract your deleted files such as contacts, texts and photos and more.


But nowadays Android devices are encrypted with default since Android 6 marshmallow. Now you don't have to worry because anyone can't access your data after factory reset by using those forensic tools. Still there are also certain tool which helps to access your data after reset but the data is not read or accessible by anyone since the data is encrypted.

This is why you should consider encrypting your smart device.

Cloud backups are still vulnerable

Although you can encrypt your device it doesn't mean that you loose all the data. Now you can store all you data online which is called 'Cloud backup'. You can save all you data from your Android device in your Google account by syncing all of them.

The data which we are talking about includes all you app data, browser data (in case if you use Google chrome), calendar, documents, contacts and all the other files that are stored in your docs or drive. After you reset your device you can restore all the data if you need while you are doing the setup process.

Please note that your data is not completely safe in the cloud backup because of the insecurities. In case if your want to clear all your data without any remains completely, the cloud backup accounts should be closed.

Remove data from Android device 
permanently

There will be instances where you don't want your data to be accessed after a factory reset. Then you can overwrite the existing data with the use of some 
over write tools which will turn it to garbage data in your device. If you do this you won't have to worry about anyone accessing your data.


The app called 'Shredit' can be used for this purpose and you can securely over-write the existing data from your Android device. Both the external and internal storage from your device will be cleared completely with this tool.

Perform factory reset successfully in Android device

In this guide we have detailly explained how to perform factory reset and how to delete all the data from your Android device. If your phone has a nagging software or is running slow then you have to do a factory reset. But resetting your device will not delete all the personal data in your device.

So when you sell your device or pass it to anyone make sure you take extra precaution to protect your data. You can use apps like 'Shreddit' before resetting your device to overwrite the existing files. This will help you to destroy all your data permanently. Doing this would make you worry less since no one can recover your data.


Latest